Benefits of Legal Separation

Or should I say Legal Separation for the Benefits.

My husband keeps saying things like “I want to make sure you’re taken care of.” So I reminded him that if he divorces me, I’ll be living in this stupid house for fifteen months, paying the bills and taking care of things, with no health insurance. I have a part-time teaching job, which means that I can’t get health insurance. I could go look for another job, but not until June 2009.

So I asked him if we could do a Legal Separation instead of a divorce, at least until he returns from Afghanistan. That way I will still be covered under his insurance, while I am staying in this house, paying his bills, etc. By the time he returns from his deployment, I should have everything taken care of, and we can finalize everything and go our separate ways.

I was going to stay out in the outbuilding on our property, but I am leaning more towards asking my husband to stay out there, since I am in the house more than he is, and it would be a good, dark place for him to sleep after his midnight shifts. And a good, dark place for him to be away from me.

Whoops! Was that last part out loud?

2 Comments

  1. Shades said,

    September 23, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    Wow. I wasn’t familiar with such an option. I’m glad you have it available to you, though, whether you consider it or go forward with it, or whatever.

    Yes, banish the man to the outbuilding.

  2. karianne said,

    September 23, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    I’m so glad that you are looking into all of the options available. You deserve to be taken care of, you do such good caretaking just being yourself.


Leave a Reply

