Tattling

Well I did it.

I told the professor about the punk next to me who was cheating on the test. I went up to his office after class to get my test, and I spit it out. I was VERY flustered. I didn’t want to do it. I don’t like feeling like I’m a “tattle-tale” but this is something that I’m going to have to deal with when I’m a teacher, so I tried to think of it if I were in the prof’s shoes.

Would I want to know if one of MY students were cheating?

HELL YEAH

So we’ll see what happens. If the prof confronts the student, he’ll probably know who turned him in, and he will hate me forever, but I don’t care. I feel better knowing that this spoiled little prick can’t just go out and do whatever he wants.

I passed the Calculus test with a high C. Not happy about that, but understandable since I have never before set eyes upon a derivative. The awesome thing is that I am ENJOYING learning all this new stuff!!! This is the funnest thing I’ve done since…well since I don’t know when!

And it’s nerdy Math stuff, which makes it all the cooler. I love being a nerd. I think that intelligence is one of the most underrated qualities in our culture. My DH and I were having this discussion earlier today–high school basketball teams go to state finals and they are put up in fancy hotels with meals paid for.

When I was in high school, I was in Student Council and National Honor Society and Academic Superbowl, FHA (it’s not FHA any more, though), and Spellbowl. When our Spellbowl team went to state, I was terrified of where they’d put us up…

Fortunately, the principal of my high school was a good man, and we stayed at the Embassy Suites in Indianapolis.

To tell you the truth, though, I don’t think there are many schools that would have shown the same deference to their academic teams. In my high school, the most popular kids were on the basketball team. They weren’t vocal soloists, spellbowl nerds, or valedictorians.

Come to think of it, most of the basketball players were pretty dumb. I can think of one in particular…

Anyways, I just wanted to say that I’m GLAD I’m a nerd. Geekdom rocks my world, and if it makes me even nerdier to say it, then I’ll still say it. I’m still smarter than the vast majority of the general public. The ISTEP, SAT, ASVAB, and ACT say so.

Kids, don’t be afraid to carry a calculator around. That bully who made fun of you for wearing glasses? He’ll be working for you someday. You’ll lounge in the back of your limo drinking champagne while he reclines with a beer in a tattered chair in his mom’s basement, wondering where he went wrong in life.

Don’t be afraid to be a nerd.

Annnnnnnd…scene.

2 Comments

  1. Shades said,

    October 26, 2007 at 1:57 am

    Wow.
    You got cojones, girl!
    You did the right thing, though. I’d have done the same.

    Ah, geeks… my new favorite show is “The Big Bang Theory”.

  2. karianne said,

    October 31, 2007 at 4:31 am

    Hey Brave One! Good for you for doing the right thing.

    I’m considering adding my fave shows to our happiness blog since they make me happy. Thanks for the inspiration. You should post yours too when you get a chance!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

